SA20: Top three youngster bullies of the tournament

SA20 2024 is in the run and this article will let you know about the top three youngsters of the tournament who are making more impact than seniors.

SA20 has gained immense popularity among the cricket audience in just two seasons. IPL franchises are participating in this tournament with the names of South African cities. Sunrisers franchise team Sunrisers won the first edition of SA20 which was held the last year. This year’s tournament started with a bang and the eighth game was played last night between the defending Champion SEC and MI Cape Town. Super Giants Franchise Durban Super Giants is leading the points table at the moment with three wins in three games last year’s runner Pretoria Capitals is struggling at the bottom by losing the first two games in the tournament.

This year’s Tournament is getting interesting because of many star players making big impacts, scoring many runs, and taking bundles of wickets but along with the star-studded tournament youngsters are also preparing for international competition through this tournament and some uncapped players are making headlines more than the senior players. In this article, we’ll talk about the top three youngsters players in SA20 2024

Ryan Rickelton – MI Cape Town


SA20: Top three youngster bullies of the tournament

South African youngster Ryan Rickelton has been in tremendous form throughout this tournament. He has scored consecutive three fifties and currently leading the scoreboard with 243 runs in three games. Ryan is playing for MI Cape Town and doing great work with the bat. The-handed batter started with an aggressive 87 runs in the first game against Durban Super Giants where he smashed six fours and six sixes. His team MICT has lost the game but he has made a statement that this tournament is going to be the biggest one for him. In the second game against Joberg Super Kings, he left two runs short by completing his first SA20 century, he scored 98 runs in 49 deliveries, and in the third game again he scored another 58 runs but in the losing cause. MICT lost the game to SEC by four runs. Last year he only managed to score 146 runs in seven games where 46 was his highest score in that tournament. 

Ryan has played four tests and two ODI games for South Africa where he has scored 165 runs in the test and 17 runs in the ODI. 

Jordan Hermann – Sunrisers Eastern Cape

SA20: Top three youngster bullies of the tournament
Source X

22-year-old South African uncapped batter who scored a century in the last game against MICT is the second top youngster in the tournament. He played two innings in the tournament and scored 109 runs with a century. In the first against Dubern Super Giants, he only managed to score three runs but in the very next game against MICT, he scored his first SA20 century and became a sensation. In the game against MICT, he scored 106 runs in 62 balls with eight fours and six sixes. Jordan got the Player of the Match award for his inning. In the last edition, he scored just 184 runs in eight games with an average of 23.00 with only one 50+ score in the tournament. He has to keep impressing the selectors with his bat so that we can see him in the South African team within one or two years. 

Van Buuren – Paarl Royals

Another young uncapped South African middle order batter Mitchell Van Buuren is making highlights with his impactful innings against Pretoria Capitals. He built a strong partnership with captain David Miller in the second game where he scored 72 runs in just 40 balls with seven boundaries and three sixes. In the first game, Van showed his intent with a small inning of 28 runs and then in the second game, he went big and added crucial runs for his team to win the game. The 25-year-old batter is looking for a chance to enter the national team and this edition of SA20 could be the breakthrough year in his cricket career. After his innings against PC, it will be interesting to see him in today’s game against Faf Du Plesis’s Joburg Super Kings. 

Also read: Follow-on to Win: teams that achieved this feat in The Test Cricket