Top 10 cricket stadiums with the most seating capacity

In this article, we have mentioned the top 10 cricket stadiums along with their seating capacity and location with their home team. 

Cricket stadiums hold a special place in the hearts of people, particularly in countries where it is more than just a game, it’s a way of life. These venues are not just places to watch a game, they are hallowed grounds where the rich tapestry of cricketing history unfolds, where heroes are made, and where memorable events and achievements become part of emotions. Stadiums come in all shapes and sizes, each with its unique characters. Moreover, from the iconic, historic venues to the modern, most advanced facilities, they serve as the stage for the world’s second-most popular sport, connecting fans from whole worldwide and generations.

1. Narendra Modi Stadium

Narendra Modi stadium has become the world’s largest cricket stadium among all the present stadiums. The Narendra Modi Stadium is an international cricket stadium present in Ahmedabad, Gujarat, India. The seating capacity of this stadium is 132,000 spectators. The stadium is owned by the Gujarat Cricket Association and used as the venue for domestic and international cricket matches. Furthermore, the stadium is spread over the area of 63 acres and this stadium’s complex also includes a number of other facilities, such as a clubhouse, an Olympic-size swimming pool, a cricket academy, and practice pitches.


Also Read: Top 10 Smallest Cricket Stadiums In The World

2. Melbourne cricket ground

Melbourne Cricket Ground is the second largest stadium with the seating capacity of 100,024. This stadium is an Australian sports stadium which is located in Yarra Park, Melbourne, Victoria. Further, the MCG has hosted the Olympic Games twice, in 1956 and 2006. It has also hosted the Commonwealth Games twice, in 1962 and 2006.In addition, 1992 and cricket World Cup finals are also played here. The stadium is spread over an area of 27.33 acres.

3. Eden Garden

Eden Garden is the third largest stadium with a seating capacity of 68,000. Eden Gardens is often referred to as home of Indian cricket and also called as the “Mecca of Indian cricket”, due to it being the first purpose-built ground for the sport. The stadium has hosted a lots of important cricket matches, which includes the 1987 Cricket World Cup final, the 1993 Hero Cup semi-final, the 2001 Kolkata Test match, the 2011 Cricket World Cup final, and the 2022 ICC Men’s T20 World Cup final.

4. Naya Raipur Cricket Stadium

The Naya Raipur International Cricket Stadium, generally known as the Shaheed Veer Narayan Singh International Cricket Stadium located at Naya Raipur, Chhattisgarh, India. Also, it is the third-largest cricket stadium in India with a seating capacity of 65,400. Also hosted a number of important cricket matches, including the 2010 Indian Premier League (IPL) final, the 2013 ICC Champions Trophy final, and the 2016 T20 World Cup final. 

5. Perth Stadium

Perth Stadium, currently known as Optus Stadium for its sponsorship reasons, and used as a  multi-purpose stadium in Perth, Western Australia, located in the suburb of Burswood. It was fully completed in late 2017 and then officially opened to the public on 21 January 2018. In addition, the total capacity is 61,266 which includes standing room, making it the third-largest stadium in Australia (after the Melbourne Cricket Ground and Stadium Australia). 

Also Read: Top 10 Best Cricket Stadiums In the World

Top 10  largest cricket stadiums based on seating capacity are:

  1. Narendra Modi Stadium: 1,32,000 , Indian Team, Gujarat team, (Ahmedabad, India)
  2. Melbourne Cricket Ground: 1,00,024, Australia team, Melbourne S Team, (Melbourne, Australia) 
  3. Eden Gardens: 68,000, India team, Kolkata team, Bengal team, (Kolkata, India)
  4. Naya Raipur International Cricket Stadium: 65,400 Chhattisgarh Team, Delhi Team, (Raipur, India),
  5. Perth Stadium: 61,266, Australia team, Perth S team, (Perth, Australia)
  6. Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium: 55,000 India team, Hyderabad team,  (Hyderabad, India),
  7. Greenfield International Stadium: 55,000, Kerala team, (Thiruvananthapuram, India)
  8. Adelaide Oval: 53,583, Australia team, Adelaide S team, (Adelaide, Australia)
  9. Ekana Cricket Stadium: 50,000, India team, Uttar Pradesh team, Lucknow team, (Lucknow, India)
  10. MA. Chidambaram Stadium: 50,000 , India team, Tamil Nadu team, Chennai team, (Chennai, India)


From the article, it is concluded that the mentioned stadiums are the world’s largest stadiums having top most seating capacity. In which, Narendra Modi Stadium has become the topmost seating capacity. And the seating capacity of this stadium is 1,32,000.