Top 10 amazing Hat-Tricks in the Indian Premier League

In this article, we have mentioned the top ten Indian Premier League hat-tricks in detailed information regarding the same.

No game is one-sided, although we have witnessed the opposite in a few instances. There have been numerous instances in cricket where the game became one-sided due to outstanding bowling or a spectacular performance by a batsman. Such incidents are entertaining to see, especially in a T20 contest. So, let’s have a look at several Indian Premier League matches where a bowler got three consecutive wickets.

Lakshmipathy Balaji

Lakshmipathy Balaji, an Indian bowler, is the first on this list. He bowls moderately fast with his right arm. He was the first player in IPL history to score a hat-trick. It happened in 2008 while playing for Chennai Super Kings, against the Punjab Kings.


Amit Mishra

Amit Mishra, an Indian spinner, is ranked second. He is one of India’s most revered bowlers, having achieved a hat-trick against the Deccan Chargers in the IPL in 2008. He was playing for DC at the time and had a five-wicket haul.

Makhaya Ntini

Then there’s this South African bowler who became the third guy in IPL history to record a hat-trick. It happened against KKR in the first season of the IPL, when he was playing for CSK.

Also Read:IPL 2024 Player Retentions List

Yuvraj Singh

Yuvraj Singh, an extremely popular Indian all-rounder, is next on this list. He has played for numerous Indian Premier League  clubs, but his hat-trick came while playing for the Punjab Kings against RCB. It was released in 2009.

Rohit Sharma

Rohit Sharma, the current Indian captain, is ranked fifth. We all know him for his superb batting abilities, but it may surprise you to learn that he also owns the record for the most hat-tricks in the IPL. It happened against MI in 2009, while he was playing for the Deccan Chargers.

Praveen Kumar

Praveen Kumar, a former Indian bowler, is ranked sixth. He participated in the Indian Premier League from 2008 to 2017, including a hat-trick for RCB in 2010. It happened against the Rajasthan Royals.

Amit Mishra

Amit Mishra, the great Indian spinner, takes seventh place on this list once more. After being the second player in Indian Premier League history to take a hat-trick, he repeated the feat against the Punjab Kings in 2011. He bowled 4/9 for the Deccan Chargers while playing for them.

Also Read: IPL vs. Other T20 Leagues: Exploring the Key Differences

Ajit Chandila

Moving on, Ajit Chnadila made this list after getting three consecutive wickets in the Indian Premier League in 2012. It happened in Jaipur, where he was playing for RR versus Pune Warriors.

Sunil Narine

Sunil Narine of the Caribbean appears to be in the penultimate position on this list. In 2013, he scored a hat-trick against the Punjab Kings at Mohali. He played for KKR here.

Pravin Tambe

The final name on this list is that of a former Indian cricketer. He made his IPL debut in 2013 at the age of 41, making him the oldest IPL debutant. In 2014, he took three consecutive wickets against KKR.