Teams with the Most Number of T20 World Cup Titles

West Indies and defending world champions England are the only teams to win T20 World Cup more then once. In this article, we will look at the teams with the most T20 World Cup titles.

There is no hiding from the fact that teams are remembered by the number of titles they end up winning and that is one of the reasons why when you think of the most successful teams in cricket Australia’s name comes to mind as the Aussies have won every major title that the sport has be it ODI World Cup, T20 World Cup or World Test Championship the Australian team has tasted success at least one in every multination tournament. If we talk specifically about the shortest international format i.e. the T20 World Cup there hasn’t been a particular team that has dominated the multination tournament as several teams have won the title and no team has been able to defend its crown.

In this article, we will look at the teams with the most T20 World Cup titles

West Indies


The Caribbean team has won two T20 World Cups so far in 2012 and 2016 against Sri Lanka and England respectively under Daren Sammy’s captaincy. Talking about the 2012 T20 World Cup this was West Indies’ first ICC trophy in eight years having last won the Champions Trophy in 2004 after defeating England at their home ground. Coming back to 2012 West Indies defended a low total of 137 runs against the home team Sri Lanka courtesy of an all-round performance from Marlon Samuels who scored 78 runs and picked up a wicket in his quota of four overs. As far as the 2016 T20 World Cup which was held in India is concerned that particular edition saw West Indies come out on top after experts didn’t give the team the slightest chance of even making it to the top four but the Daren Sammy-led side did so and ended up winning its second T20 World Cup title.


England has won two T20 World Cup titles in addition to being the defending champions of the tournament. The English team won its first-ever ICC trophy in 2010 when the Paul Collingwood-led side defeated Australia in the final of the 2010 T20 World Cup held in West Indies. Chasing a decent target of 148 set by Australia, England went over the line with seven wickets in hand.

England is also the defending world champions in T20 cricket as the Jos Buttler-led side won the T20 World Cup 2022 held in Australia after defeating Pakistan at Melbourne. All-rounder Sam Curran who won the Player of the Tournament award played a crucial role in guiding his team to their second T20 World Cup title.


India won its first (so far only) T20 World Cup title during the inaugural edition of the tournament held in South Africa after defeating Pakistan by five runs in a close game which could have gone either way. Batting first India scored 157 runs at the end of 20 overs courtesy of a half-century from the bat of Gautam Gambhir and a cameo lower down the order from Rohit Sharma.

Indian bowlers gave the team a good start as more than half of Pakistan’s team was back in the pavilion with less than 100 runs on the board until Misbah-ul-Haq started shifting the tide in Pakistan’s favour by hitting Harbhajan for three sixes in an over to keep his team in the game. But the bowlers led by Irfan Pathan held their nerves to guide India to victory.

Also Read: Will India Win The T20 World Cup This Year? Chances, Squad


The Younis Khan-led side won the 2009 T20 World Cup after defeating Sri Lanka in the final at Lords. Bowling first against Sri Lanka’s strong batting lineup Pakistan’s bowling led by Abdul Razzaq who picked up three wickets restricted Sri Lanka to a low total of 138 runs. Razzaq was well supported by Umar Gul and Mohammad Amir who picked up a wicket each. Chasing a target of 139 runs Pakistan romped home by seven wickets.

Also Read: Jake Fraser-McGurk Opens Up About T20 World Cup Omission


The Aaron Finch-led side won the 2021 T20 World Cup held in UAE and Oman after defeating New Zealand in the final courtesy of a match-winning partnership between David Warner and Mitchell Marsh both of whom scored half-centuries while chasing 173 runs to win against a potent New Zealand bowling attack which had the likes of Tim Southee and Trent Boult and its disposal. The Australian batters were well supported by the duo of Josh Hazelwood and Adam Zampa who picked up four wickets between them.