Suryakumar Yadav secures back-to-back ICC Men’s T20I Cricketer of the Year awards

Suryakumar Yadav’s exceptional T20 prowess earns him consecutive ICC Men’s T20I Cricketer of the Year awards and the captaincy role in the Team of the Year.

In a remarkable achievement, India’s dynamic batsman Suryakumar Yadav has been honored with the ICC Men’s T20I Cricketer of the Year award for the second consecutive year. Simultaneously, West Indies’ versatile captain, Hayley Matthews, claimed the ICC Women’s T20I Cricketer of the Year award.

Suryakumar not only secured the individual accolade but was also appointed as the captain of the ICC Men’s T20I team of the year for 2023. His stellar performance in 17 T20I innings, amassing 733 runs at an impressive average of 48.86 and a strike-rate of 155.95, made him a dominant force in T20 cricket throughout 2023. His outstanding contribution outshone competitors like Mark Chapman of New Zealand, Alpesh Ramjani of Uganda, and Zimbabwe’s Sikandar Raza.

The maverick batter showcased his prowess with memorable knocks, including a remarkable 112 not out (51) in Rajkot and an impactful century off just 56 balls in India’s final T20I of the year in Johannesburg. Suryakumar’s leadership role also emerged towards the end of the year, marked by half-centuries against Australia and South Africa, solidifying his status as a crucial figure in the young Indian side.


Expressing his joy, Suryakumar stated, “I am thrilled to win the ICC Men’s T20I Cricketer of the Year award for a second time. Winning back-to-back awards for my performances in this format is something I could only dream about when I made my international debut.”

In parallel success, Hayley Matthews showcased her exceptional cricketing skills by topping the run-scoring charts with 700 runs in 14 matches at a striking rate of 132.32. Additionally, she proved her prowess with the ball, picking up 19 wickets at an average of 16.21 through her off-spin bowling.

Hayley’s outstanding unbeaten 99 and the record-breaking 132 in a run-chase of 213 against Australia were defining moments, setting her apart. Her performances edged out strong contenders such as Chamari Athapaththu of Sri Lanka, Ellyse Perry of Australia, and England’s Sophie Ecclestone.

Expressing her gratitude, Hayley remarked, “I’ve been pretty blessed to have a good year wearing the West Indies colors, performing really well, and helping the team.” She cherished the honor, recognizing its significance, and expressed motivation to make West Indies fans worldwide happy through her performances.

Hayley Matthews’ extraordinary tally of 310 runs in a series against Australia stands as the highest by any player in a women’s T20I bilateral series. Notably, she secured a run of eight consecutive Player of the Match awards, underscoring her consistent excellence in T20 cricket.

These awards mark a celebration of individual brilliance and contribution to the sport, reaffirming Suryakumar Yadav and Hayley Matthews as standout performers in the T20 format on the global stage.