Stats Look: SRH beats RCB in the most explosive IPL match

Sunrisers Hyderabad defeated Royal Challengers Bengaluru by 25 runs in a match where many batting records were broken. Here is a look at these records.

Sunrisers Hyderabad defeated Royal Challengers Bengaluru at the Chinnaswamy Stadium in the most explosive match in the history of the Indian Premier League. As SRH beat RCB by 25 runs the aggregate total of the game came out to be 549 runs which are the highest runs ever in a T20 game. On a pitch, made perfectly for the batters it was a dream for the batters and they showed their prowess. Travis Head scored a century in the first innings as SRH broke their own record they made against the five-time champions, Mumbai Indians. The visitors scored 287 runs in the first innings while the hosts despite a great knock from Dinesh Karthik, RCB fell short by 25 runs. RCB’s 262 also broke the record of Mumbai Indians’ highest score in the second innings. Here is a look at the different records that were broken in the match.

Most sixes in an innings

The Sunrisers Hyderabad batting lineup wreaked havoc on RCB’s bowlers and smashed the most sixes in an innings in an IPL match. They smashed 22 sixes breaking the record held by RCB for hitting 21 sixes against the Pune Warriors India. Head smashed eight sixes while Heinrich Klaasen smashed seven sixes. Abhishek Sharma and Aiden Markram smashed two sixes each while Abdul Samad down the order hit three sixes.


The first team with more than one 250-plus score

Sunrisers Hyderabad is now the only team in the IPL with multiple 250-plus scores. Apart from the teams in the IPL, Surrey leads the way for the most 250-plus scores in T20 cricket with 3 totals. Yorkshire, Czech Republic and Somerset also have two 250-plus scores. 

Bowlers going for a toll

There is no surprise that the bowlers do not like visiting the Chinnaswamy stadium. Bowlers with far better quality have been smashed for sixes. Four of the RCB bowlers conceded more than fifty runs. Reece Topley (68), Vijaykumar Vyshak (64), Lockie Ferguson (52) and Yash Dayal (51) were the four bowlers who were smashed all around the park. This was the first instance in T20 where four bowlers conceded more than 50 runs in the same innings. While in the IPL there never have been any instances where two bowlers conceded 50-plus runs in the same innings.

Partnerships galore at the Chinnaswamy stadium

It was only the second time that a team in the IPL had four 50-plus partnerships. Head and Abhishek shared a century stand. After Abhishek’s wicket, Heinrich Klaasen walked into bat after being given a promotion in the batting order. Klaasen and Head scored a 57-run partnership before the centurion was dismissed. Klaasen and Aiden Markram smashed a half-century stand for the third wicket. Abdul Samad showed his hard-hitting ability by playing a 37-run 10-ball knock and shared yet another half-century stand. 

It was only the second time in the history of the IPL since the very first game in the history of the tournament. Kolkata Knight Riders smashed four half-century stands against RCB in Bengaluru.

Fastest century for SRH

Travis Head scored the fastest century for any SRH. The left-handed Australian opener brought up the triple-figure mark in just 39 balls breaking David Warner’s record of 43-ball ton against the Kolkata Knight Riders in 2017. He also holds the record for the fourth-fastest century in the tournament’s history.

RCB’s bowling woes continue

The Royal Challengers Bangalore has now conceded 13 tons in the tournament which is the most any team has conceded in the history of the tournament. They went past Mumbai Indians who have conceded 12 tons.

Third-fastest to 200

Sunrisers Hyderabad became the third-faster to reach the 200-run mark in IPL when they reached the figure in 14.6 overs. Earlier in the season against Mumbai Indians, SRH scored 200 runs in 14.4 overs. The fastest team to reach 200 runs is RCB when they achieved the feat in 2016 against the Punjab Kings in a 15-over game in just 14.1 overs also in Bengaluru.