Sri Lanka vs Afghanistan ODI Series: Schedule and Venue

Sri Lanka vs Afghanistan: Crucial ODI Series for hosts to prepare for World Cup Qualifiers. Here is the match schedule, where to watch and other details.

A three-match ODI series against Afghanistan will be held in Sri Lanka. Sri Lanka vs Afghanistan for the hosts will be very crucial, who will use these three games to get ready for the 2023 Cricket World Cup Qualifiers. On the other hand, Afghanistan can use these three matches to prepare for the 2023 Cricket World Cup, which will take place later that year in India. Sri Lanka’s fields and weather are very comparable to those in India. From June 19 forward, Sri Lanka will compete in the Cricket World Cup Qualifiers in Zimbabwe. The 1996 World Cup champion is grouped alongside Ireland, Oman, Scotland, and the United Arab Emirates in Group B of the World Cup Qualifiers.  The largest cricketing nation participating in the Qualifiers has to be West Indies. The 1975 and 1979 World Cup winners are grouped with Nepal, the Netherlands, the United States of America, and Zimbabwe in Group A of the qualifiers. 

Here is the schedule for the Afghanistan tour of Sri Lanka.

1st ODI


2nd June, 10:00 AM IST at Mahinda Rajapaksa International Stadium, Hambantota 

2nd ODI

4th June, 10:00 AM IST at Mahinda Rajapaksa International Stadium, Hambantota 

3rd ODI

7th June, 10:00 AM IST at Mahinda Rajapaksa International Stadium, Hambantota 

The Mahinda Rajapaksa International Stadium in Hambantota will serve as the location for all three games. Over the years, the venue has favoured pacers in the bowling category. On this ground, 300+ scores have been recorded ten times. Sri Lanka’s 368 against Pakistan in 2015 is the highest score ever on this pitch. A run-fest of an ODI series is what we can expect if the pitch acts similarly.

Where to watch?

The Afghanistan tour of Sri Lanka can be watched on Sony Sports Network. Sony Sports Ten 5 and Sony Sports Ten 5 HD will broadcast the matches on television. Sony Liv will live stream the matches.

Afghanistan’s Squad

Hashmatullah Shahidi (c), Ibrahim Zadran, Riaz Hassan, Najibullah Zadran, Rahmanullah Gurbaz (wk), Ikram Alikhil (wk), Rahmat Shah, Mohammad Nabi, Rashid Khan, Azmatullah Omarzai, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Noor Ahmad, Abdul Rahman, Fazalhaq Farooqi, Fareed Ahmad Malik

Also Read: Will BCCI accept PCB’s hybrid model for Asia Cup?

 “Get more breaking news, cricket updates, fixtures, and trending news only on Follow us on Facebook or Twitter and Subscribe to our YouTube Channel today.”