Sri Lanka names Kusal Mendis and Wanindu Hasaranga as ODI and T20I captains against Zimbabwe

Sri Lanka appoints Kusal Mendis and Wanindu Hasaranga as captains for ODI and T20I matches against Zimbabwe in a strategic move ahead of major tournaments.

Sri Lanka’s cricket board has disclosed that Kusal Mendis and Wanindu Hasaranga will lead the men’s ODI and T20I teams, respectively, in the upcoming series against Zimbabwe in January. Furthermore, Charith Asalanka has been appointed vice-captain for both formats.

This announcement marks the removal of Dasun Shanaka from Sri Lanka’s leadership role in white-ball cricket. Hasaranga, a talented leg-spin bowling all-rounder, had been sidelined due to a hamstring injury suffered during the Lanka Premier League in August. Following a subsequent operation, he missed out on participation in the Asia Cup and the Men’s ODI World Cup.

Hasaranga is now poised to make his comeback to international cricket during the series against Zimbabwe. He will spearhead Sri Lanka in the T20I series, with the team eyeing preparations for the 2024 Men’s T20 World Cup scheduled in the West Indies and USA from June 4-30.


Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) revealed that the final squads for both ODI and T20I matches against Zimbabwe will be chosen from the preliminary list in due course. The hosts are set to contest all their white-ball encounters against Zimbabwe from January 6 to 18 at the R Premadasa Stadium in Colombo.

Sri Lanka squad

Sri Lanka Preliminary ODI squad: Kusal Mendis (c), Charith Asalanka (vc), Pathum Nissanka, Avishka Fernando, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Sahan Arachchige, Nuwanidu Fernando, Dasun Shanaka, Kamindu Mendis, Chamika Karunaratne, Janith Liyanage, Wanindu Hasaranga, Maheesh Theekshana, Dilshan Madushanka, Dushmantha Chameera, Dunith Wellalage, Pramod Madushan, Asitha Fernando, Akila Dananjaya, Jeffrey Vandersay, Chamika Gunasekera.

Sri Lanka Preliminary T20I squad: Wanindu Hasaranga (c), Charith Asalanka (vc), Pathum Nissanka, Kusal Mendis, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Dasun Shanaka, Angelo Mathews, Dhananjaya de Silva, Maheesh Theekshana, Kusal Janith Perera, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Kamindu Mendis, Dunith Wellalage, Akila Dananjaya, Jeffrey Vandersay, Chamika Karunaratne, Dushmantha Chameera, Dilshan Madushanka, Binura Fernando, Nuwan Thushara, Pramod Madushan, Matheesha Pathirana.