South Africa to host India and Afghanistan in U19 tri-series as World Cup preparation

South Africa will host India and Afghanistan for an U-19 tri-series in Johannesburg as a pre-World Cup preparation.

Cricket South Africa (CSA) announced that ahead of the forthcoming U19 Men’s Cricket World Cup 2024, South Africa will host India and Afghanistan in a pivotal tri-series. The tournament aims to serve as a significant preparation platform for all participating teams. Scheduled from December 29 to January 10, all seven matches of the tri-series will unfold at the Old Edwardians Cricket Club located in Johannesburg.

Grant van Velden, CSA’s Head of High Performance, expressed gratitude towards the cricket boards of India and Afghanistan for their commitment to ensuring the success of the tri-series. Van Velden highlighted the critical role these matches play in preparing the young cricketers for competitive encounters against India and Afghanistan, ultimately fine-tuning their skills ahead of the World Cup.

Tri-series schedule


India is set to commence their tri-series campaign against Afghanistan on December 29, followed by a face-off against South Africa on January 2. Subsequently, they will clash with Afghanistan again on January 4 and then square off against South Africa for the second time on January 6. The final match of the series will take place on January 10.

Naseeb Khan, CEO of the Afghanistan Cricket Board (ACB), emphasized the tri-series significance as a preparatory ground for their team and India’s budding talent to gear up effectively for the ICC U19 Men’s Cricket World Cup 2024.

In the U19 World Cup, South Africa, captained by David Teeger, is grouped with England, Scotland, and West Indies in Group B. Their campaign begins against the West Indies on January 19 at the JB Marks Oval in Potchefstroom.

Meanwhile, defending champions India, led by Uday Saharan, find themselves in Group A alongside Bangladesh, Ireland, and the USA. They kick off their campaign against Bangladesh on January 20 in Bloemfontein, with subsequent matches against Ireland and the USA on January 25 and 28, respectively.

The squads for the respective teams have been finalized, with South Africa’s featuring players like David Teeger, Esosa Aihevba, and others. India’s squad includes Arshin Kulkarni, Adarsh Singh, Uday Saharan, and other talented individuals.

India has also announced reserve players for the tri-series, ensuring a robust lineup for the upcoming cricket action.


South Africa squad: David Teeger (captain), Esosa Aihevba, Juan James, Martin Khumalo, Kwena Maphaka, Dewan Marias, Riley Norton, Nqobani Mokoena, Romashan Pillay, Sipho Potsane, Lhuan-dre Pretorius, Richard Seletswane, Oliver Whitehead, Steve Stolk and Ntando Zuma.

India squad: Arshin Kulkarni, Adarsh Singh, Rudra Mayur Patel, Sachin Dhas, Priyanshu Moliya, Musheer Khan, Uday Saharan (captain), Aravelly Avanish Rao (wk), Saumy Kumar Pandey (vice-captain), Murugan Abhishek, Innesh Mahajan (wk), Dhanush Gowda, Aaradhya Shukla, Raj Limbani and Naman Tiwari

India reserve players for tri-series: Prem Devkar Ansh Gosai and Mohammed Aman