Rovman Powell to lead West Indies in T20Is as Jason Holder and Kyle Mayers return

Rovman Powell leads the T20I squad, including returning players Jason Holder and Kyle Mayers. Here is a look at the T20I and ODI sqauds.

West Indies’ white-ball squads for the upcoming tour of Australia have been unveiled, with the notable exclusion of Shimron Hetmyer due to a recent dip in form with the bat. Hetmyer struggled against England, prompting his omission from both the ODI and T20I squads.

The ODI squad, led by Shai Hope, introduces potential debutants Teddy Bishop and wicketkeeper-batter Tevin Imlach. All-rounder Justin Greaves returns from injury, alongside Kavem Hodge, while leg-spinner Hayden Walsh Jr. makes a comeback. Notably, Brandon King and Sherfane Rutherford are unavailable for ODI selection as they participate in franchise cricket before returning for the T20 series.

In the T20I squad, Rovman Powell takes the captaincy, with the return of Jason Holder and Kyle Mayers, who had made themselves unavailable for the Test tour to engage in T20 franchise contracts. West Indies, buoyed by their recent series win against England, looks to maintain their competitive edge in Australia and build momentum leading up to the T20 World Cup in June.

Also Read: Dinesh Karthik named England Lions batting consultant for India A tour

Desmond Haynes, lead selector and former international, emphasized the team’s preparation for the T20 World Cup and urged them to continue their strong performances. The three ODIs are scheduled for February 2, 4, and 6 in Melbourne, Sydney, and Canberra, followed by the T20Is in Hobart, Adelaide, and Perth on February 9, 11, and 13.

Before the white-ball series, West Indies and Australia will face each other in two Test matches as part of the World Test Championship, starting from January 17.

West Indies ODI Squad:

  • Shai Hope (c)
  • Alzarri Joseph
  • Alick Athanaze
  • Teddy Bishop
  • Keacy Carty
  • Roston Chase
  • Matthew Forde
  • Justin Greaves
  • Kavem Hodge
  • Tevin Imlach
  • Gudakesh Motie
  • Kjorn Ottley
  • Romario Shepherd
  • Oshane Thomas
  • Hayden Walsh Jr.

West Indies T20I Squad:

  • Rovman Powell (c)
  • Shai Hope
  • Johnson Charles
  • Roston Chase
  • Jason Holder
  • Akeal Hosein
  • Alzarri Joseph
  • Brandon King
  • Kyle Mayers
  • Gudakesh Motie
  • Nicholas Pooran
  • Andre Russell
  • Sherfane Rutherford
  • Romario Shepherd
  • Oshane Thomas