Rohit Sharma leads ICC Men’s ODI Team of the Year

Six Indian players, including Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli, grace the ICC Men’s ODI Team of the Year. Sharma has also been named the captain of the team.

In a stellar recognition of their outstanding performances, six Indian cricketers, led by captain Rohit Sharma, have earned a place in the ICC Men’s ODI Team of the Year, announced on Tuesday.

Joining Rohit in this prestigious lineup are Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Mohammad Siraj, Kuldeep Yadav, and Mohammad Shami. The team also features Travis Head (Australia), Daryl Mitchell (New Zealand), Heinrich Klaasen (wk) (South Africa), Marco Jansen (South Africa), and Adam Zampa (Australia).

Rohit Sharma maintained his phenomenal record in ODI cricket throughout 2023, accumulating a staggering 1255 runs at an impressive average of 52. His standout performance came during the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup, where his brilliant knock of 131 against Afghanistan in Delhi showcased his exceptional batting prowess.


Shubman Gill solidified his position as Rohit’s preferred opening partner, delivering a stellar performance with a remarkable 208 off 149 balls against New Zealand in Hyderabad. Gill reached triple figures five times in 2023, ending the calendar year with the highest run tally (1584) globally.

Virat Kohli continued his consistent run in 2023, amassing 1377 runs, with only Shubman Gill surpassing his total. Kohli’s six centuries, including breaking Sachin Tendulkar’s record for most international centuries during the World Cup, earned him the Player of the Tournament accolade.

The dynamic right-arm bowler, Mohammad Siraj, stood out with an impressive haul of 44 wickets in 2023. His standout moment was a career-best performance of 6/21 in the Asia Cup final, dismantling Sri Lanka’s strong batting lineup and helping India secure the title.

Kuldeep Yadav emerged as the leading wicket-taker globally in 2023, claiming an impressive total of 49 ODI scalps. His exceptional performance against arch-rival Pakistan in the Asia Cup, where he took 5/25, played a pivotal role in India’s journey to the title.

The ICC Men’s ODI Team of the Year reflects the dominance and excellence of Indian players on the international stage, with their record-breaking performances leaving an indelible mark on the cricketing world.