Pakistan Cricket Board Profile and Analysis: History, Role, Members, Rules, Tournaments, Finances and Presidents

We will look at what the PCB is, its history, its job as the Pakistani Cricket Board, and everything else related to the PCB.

The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) is the governing body for cricket in Pakistan. It was established on November 1, 1959, and is responsible for the administration of the sport in the country, including the organization of cricket tournaments and matches, the selection of players for the national team, and the development of the sport at the grassroots level. The PCB is headquartered in Lahore, Pakistan, and is a full member of the International Cricket Council (ICC).


The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) was established on November 1, 1959, replacing the earlier board known as the Board of Control for Cricket in Pakistan. The PCB was formed to oversee and promote the game of cricket in Pakistan, and since then it has been responsible for the growth and development of the sport in the country.

In the early years of its existence, the PCB faced numerous challenges, including limited resources and a lack of infrastructure. Despite these difficulties, the board was able to organize several successful international cricket tours and establish the Pakistan cricket team as a competitive force on the world stage.

Over the years, the PCB has continued to develop the sport of cricket in Pakistan, investing in infrastructure, promoting the game at the grassroots level, and providing support to the national team. Some of the major milestones in the history of the PCB include hosting the 1987 and 1996 Cricket World Cup, as well as the successful tours of Australia and England in the late 1990s and early 2000s.

Today, the PCB is widely regarded as one of the strongest cricket boards in the world, and continues to play a key role in the development of the sport both in Pakistan and globally.

Role of PCB

The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) is the governing body responsible for the management and development of cricket in Pakistan. Its main responsibilities include:

  1. Organizing and conducting international and domestic cricket matches and tournaments in the country.
  2. Selecting and managing the Pakistan national cricket team and its coaching staff.
  3. Providing financial support and facilities for the development of cricket at the grassroots level.
  4. Promoting the game of cricket and increasing its popularity in the country.
  5. Ensuring the safety and security of players, officials, and fans during cricket matches and events.
  6. Managing the finances and commercial rights of cricket in Pakistan.
  7. Representing the interests of Pakistani cricket at the international level, including the negotiation of bilateral agreements with other cricket boards

Members of PCB

The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) is composed of the following members:

  1. Chairman: The Chairman is the highest authority in the PCB and is elected by the Board of Governors.
  2. Board of Governors: The Board of Governors is the supreme governing body of the PCB and is composed of 12 members, including the Chairman.
  3. Chief Executive Officer (CEO): The CEO is responsible for the day-to-day operations of the PCB and reports directly to the Chairman.
  4. Managing Director (MD): The MD assists the CEO in managing the affairs of the PCB.
  5. Other senior executives: The PCB has a team of senior executives, including heads of departments, who are responsible for specific areas of the board’s operations.
  6. Regional Presidents: The PCB has regional Presidents who represent the interests of the different regions of Pakistan and report directly to the Board of Governors.

Note: The exact composition of the PCB may change from time to time as per the regulations set forth by the Board of Governors.

Rules and Regulations 

The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) is the governing body for cricket in Pakistan. Some of the rules and regulations set by the PCB include:

  1. Eligibility criteria for players: The PCB sets the eligibility criteria for players to represent Pakistan in international cricket.
  2. Selection process: The PCB has a set process for selecting players for the national team, which includes trials and assessments by coaches and selectors.
  3. Code of conduct: The PCB has a code of conduct for players, which outlines the expected behavior and discipline of players on and off the field.
  4. Anti-corruption measures: The PCB has measures in place to prevent corruption in cricket, including anti-corruption education and investigations into any suspected corruption.
  5. Match-fixing penalties: The PCB has strict penalties for players found guilty of match-fixing, which can include bans and fines.
  6. Drug testing: The PCB conducts regular drug tests on players to ensure that they are not using performance-enhancing drugs.
  7. Domestic cricket structure: The PCB oversees the domestic cricket structure in Pakistan, including the organization of leagues and tournaments.

These are some of the key rules and regulations set by the Pakistan Cricket Board.

Tournaments conducted by Pakistan Cricket Board

Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) conducts various tournaments including:

  1. Pakistan Super League (PSL)
  2. Quaid-e-Azam Trophy (domestic first-class tournament)
  3. National T20 Cup
  4. Pakistan Cup (domestic one-day tournament)
  5. Pakistan A vs New Zealand A Series
  6. Emerging Teams Cup
  7. Under 19 cricket tournaments

These tournaments provide opportunities for both emerging and established cricketers to showcase their skills and contribute to the development of cricket in Pakistan.


The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) is the governing body responsible for the management of cricket in Pakistan. The finances of the PCB are primarily generated through various sources such as broadcast rights, sponsorship deals, and international tours and matches played in Pakistan. The PCB also receives funding from the government of Pakistan, which helps to run the organization and finance various cricket-related activities. Additionally, the PCB generates revenue from the sale of tickets for cricket matches and merchandise. The exact financial details of the PCB are not publicly disclosed, but it is known to have a significant budget for the development and management of cricket in Pakistan.


Here is a list of Presidents of the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) till now:

  1. Abdul Hafeez Kardar (1948-1958)
  2. Abdul Aziz Mirza (1973-1977)
  3. General Abdul Qadir (1977-1980)
  4. Nur Khan (1980-1986)
  5. Lieutenant General Zahid Ali Akhbar Khan (1987-1988)
  6. Air Marshal Nur Khan (1993-1996)
  7. General Tauqir Zia (2003-2008)
  8. Ijaz Butt (2008-2012)
  9. Zaka Ashraf (2012-2014)
  10. Najam Sethi (2014-2018)
  11. Ehsan Mani (2018-present)

The Pakistan Cricket Board remains committed to fostering a culture of excellence and competitiveness within Pakistani cricket, and continues to strive for success on the global stage.

Also Read: England and Wales Cricket Board Profile and Analysis: History, Role, Rules, Members, Tournaments and Finances


“Get more breaking news, cricket updates, fixtures, and trending news only on Follow us on Facebook or Twitter and Subscribe to our YouTube Channel today.”