Meet the Cricket Legends: 10,000-Run Scorers in ODI History

Only 15 cricket players in the history of ODI have scored over 10,000 runs. Check out the full list of these elite scorers.


In the world of One Day International (ODI) cricket, there exists an exclusive club of players who have achieved the remarkable feat of scoring over 10,000 runs in this format. Since the inception of ODI cricket back in 1971, only a select 15 individuals have managed to breach this prestigious threshold. As of 2023, only two of these extraordinary players are still active in the ODI arena, with Rohit Sharma being the latest addition to this esteemed list during the 2023 Asia Cup.

Among these distinguished cricketing luminaries, Indian players hold the majority, with a total of six cricketers who have surpassed the 10,000-run mark. Sri Lanka follows closely with four players, while West Indies and Australia each have two representatives. Pakistan and South Africa contribute one player each to this elite group.


Here’s a closer look at the legendary members of the ODI 10,000-run club:

  • Sachin Tendulkar – 18,426 Runs:

 Tendulkar not only leads the pack but has almost twice as many centuries as the next player. He also holds the record for the most ODI appearances with 463 matches.

  • Kumar Sangakkara – 14,234 Runs:

 Known for his elegant left-handed strokes, Sangakkara was a key figure in Sri Lanka’s back-to-back World Cup final appearances.

  • Ricky Ponting – 13,704 Runs:

Ponting stands as the sole Australian on the list, having been part of three consecutive Cricket World Cup-winning teams from 1999 to 2007.

  • Sanath Jayasuriya – 13,430 Runs:

Jayasuriya, although fourth in terms of runs, has the lowest average among the 10,000-run scorers, having played 445 matches with an average of 32.36.

  • Virat Kohli 13,027 – Runs:

Kohli is the most recent addition to the 13,000-run club, achieving this milestone with another century against Pakistan in the 2023 Asia Cup.

  • Mahela Jayawardene – 12,650 Runs:

The third Sri Lankan in the top six, Jayawardene captained his team to the 2007 World Cup final.

  • Inzamam-ul-Haq – 11,739 Runs:

Inzamam leads Pakistan’s ODI run charts but has the fewest centuries (10) among all players on this list.

  • Jacques Kallis – 11,579 Runs:

Kallis is South Africa’s sole representative in the 10,000-run club. He is the only player in history to achieve both 10,000 runs and 250 wickets in both Test and ODI formats.

  • Sourav Ganguly – 11,363 Runs:

Ganguly is the last player to have scored more than 11,000 runs on this list. He led India to the 2003 World Cup final.

  • Rahul Dravid – 10,889 Runs:

Known for his classical elegance and resilience at the crease, Dravid was part of India’s Champions Trophy-winning side in 2002.

  • MS Dhoni – 10,773 Runs:

Dhoni, a modern-day white-ball wicketkeeper-batter, played a pivotal role in India’s white-ball cricket development.

  • Chris Gayle – 10,480 Runs:

While renowned for his T20 exploits, Gayle is a record-holder in all three formats, with 25 centuries in ODIs.

  • Brian Lara – 10,405 Runs:

Lara is just 74 runs short of Gayle’s West Indies record, despite playing two fewer matches.

  • Tillakaratne Dilshan – 10,290 Runs:

Dilshan found his true form after being promoted to open the innings and became one of the most destructive batters of the modern era for Sri Lanka.

  • Rohit Sharma – 10,031 Runs:

The newest member of this elite club, Rohit Sharma, achieved this milestone during the 2023 Asia Cup, adding his name to the list of cricketing legends.

This remarkable group of players has left an indelible mark on the history of ODI cricket, showcasing their batting prowess and contributing to the sport’s rich legacy.