Matt Henry returns to New Zealand T20 squad for Pakistan series

With Kane Williamson and Devon Conway’s return, New Zealand gears up for the T20 series against Pakistan. Learn about the squad dynamics, injury comebacks, and notable inclusions shaping the Kiwis’ strategy ahead of the crucial matches.

New Zealand has welcomed back fast-bowler Matt Henry into the T20 squad for the upcoming five-match series against Pakistan. Henry’s return follows his recovery from a hamstring injury that ruled him out of the ICC Cricket World Cup in India.

The 13-player squad for the series, commencing on January 12, sees the return of skipper Kane Williamson and opening batter Devon Conway. Williamson, managing a knee injury, is set to miss the third T20I in Dunedin, with uncapped Josh Clarkson named as cover and Mitchell Santner taking over as captain for that match.

Coach Gary Stead emphasized the significance of the Pakistan series in their T20 World Cup preparation, highlighting the importance of experienced players like Matt Henry, Devon Conway, Lockie Ferguson, and Kane Williamson in bolstering the side.


Stead expressed enthusiasm about starting the series at Eden Park, anticipating a spirited performance from the team in what promises to be an exciting occasion.

Pace-bowler Lockie Ferguson is set to make his comeback after an achilles injury, planning to return through the Auckland Aces in three Super Smash games before joining the BlackCaps squad for the final three T20Is against Pakistan.

The absence of Kyle Jamieson, Trent Boult, and Jimmy Neesham due to injuries and overseas T20 league commitments has led to opportunities for younger players like Ben Sears, who continues in the T20I side after an impressive display against Bangladesh.

The New Zealand T20 squad for Pakistan will convene in Auckland on January 9, gearing up for a series crucial for their World Cup preparations.

New Zealand T20 squad: Kane Williamson (c) (matches 1, 2, 4 and 5), Finn Allen, Mark Chapman, Josh Clarkson (match 3 only), Devon Conway (wk), Lockie Ferguson (matches 3, 4 and 5), Matt Henry, Adam Milne, Daryl Mitchell, Glenn Phillips, Mitchell Santner, Ben Sears (matches 1 and 2), Tim Seifert (wk), Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee