Indian Bowlers Who Won Purple Cap In The History Of IPL

In this article, we have mentioned information related to the Indian bowlers who won the purple cap in the history of the IPL (Indian Premier League)

This article is all about Indian bowlers who did great in the IPL and won something called the Purple Cap. From RP Singh in 2009 to Mohammad Shami in 2023, we’ll see how these players showed their skills and never gave up. We will see Indian bowlers who won the purple cap in the history of the IPL.

1. RP Singh

R.P Singh: Profile, Age, Height, Achievements, And Career Stats


RP Singh made history in the 2009 IPL season by winning the Purple Cap, an award for the highest wicket-taker. He played for Deccan Chargers took 23 wickets in 16 matches, and set a record as the first Indian to achieve. His bowling average of 18.13 and a low economy rate of 6.98 showed how well he controlled the game. He quickly became known for his bowling, often breaking down opponents’ top-order batsmen and turning the course of matches. One standout moment was his four-wicket performance against Delhi Daredevils. His consistent success earned him the Purple Cap and led to him being selected for the Indian squad in the 2009 ICC World Twenty20.

2. Pragyan Ojha

Indian Bowlers Who Won Purple Cap In The History Of IPL
(Photo Source: X)

In 2010, Pragyan Ojha made history in the IPL by becoming the first spinner to win the Purple Cap award. He played for the Deccan Chargers and showed his bowling skills which grabbed an impressive 21 wickets in 16 matches. He did not just take wickets but his bowling also created pressure on the opposing batsmen with an excellent economy rate of 7.29 runs per over. His achievement proved that spinners could excel in the fast-paced T20 format which inspired many other slow bowlers. Although his record has been surpassed, his accomplishment is still a significant moment in IPL history.

3. Mohit Sharma

Indian Bowlers Who Won Purple Cap In The History Of IPL
(Photo Source: IPL)

In the 2014 IPL season, Mohit Sharma achieved a remarkable feat by winning the Purple Cap for taking the most wickets. He played for the Chennai Super Kings under the leadership of MS Dhoni and stunned everyone with 23 wickets in the tournament. His performance included crucial spells, smart and economical bowling, and strategic variations that troubled even top batsmen. This success brought him into the national spotlight which led to his inclusion in the 2014 T20 World Cup final and the 2015 Cricket World Cup. Despite facing challenges like injuries and loss of form in later years, his 2014 Purple Cap remains significant.

4. Bhuvneshwar Kumar

Captains Of Sunrisers Hyderabad In The History Of Indian Premier League

Bhuvneshwar Kumar has made a mark in IPL history by winning the prestigious Purple Cap twice which is given to the top wicket-taker in a season. His first triumph was in 2016 with Sunrisers Hyderabad, where he claimed an impressive 23 wickets. The next year, he outdid himself securing 26 wickets and earning his second consecutive Purple Cap, a rare achievement shared only with Dwayne Bravo. His success was not just about the numbers but his skillful swing bowling, precise death bowling, and knack for taking crucial wickets at key moments were invaluable to his team. He led Hyderabad’s bowling attack and played a key role in their 2016 championship victory establishing himself as one of the most reliable and dangerous fast bowlers in the IPL.

5. Harshal Patel

Harshal Patel - Maximum Runs in an Over Scored by Cricket Players

Harshal Patel’s journey to winning the Purple Cap in the IPL is a tale of determination and opportunities. Despite facing inconsistency in previous IPL seasons, he found his stride in 2021 with the Royal Challengers Bangalore. He became a bowling sensation and batsman with his clever pace variations and slower deliveries. His standout moment was a memorable hat-trick against Mumbai Indians which showcased his ability under pressure. Consistently taking wickets in crucial moments, he finished the season with an impressive 32 scalps in just 15 matches. This remarkable performance, coupled with an outstanding economy rate of 8.14, not only earned him the Purple Cap but also established him as a vital player for RCB and a rising star in Indian cricket. 

6. Yuzvendra Chahal

Indian Bowlers Who Won Purple Cap In The History Of IPL
(Photo Source: X)

Yuzvendra Chahal’s winning the Purple Cap in the IPL was a combination of skill, perseverance, and adaptation, particularly highlighted in his exceptional 2022 season with the Rajasthan Royals. His 27 wickets were not just about the numbers; the timing and impact of his performances were crucial. He consistently delivered impactful spells, often dismantling opposition batting lineups at critical moments, with a notable 5/40 against Kolkata Knight Riders.

This achievement was not isolated as his proficiency in leg-spin, googly, and variations had consistently made him among the top wicket-takers throughout his career. His 2022 Purple Cap win marked a peak in his performance, showcasing his mastery over the format and solidifying his reputation as a match-winner.

7. Mohammad Shami 

Indian Bowlers Who Won Purple Cap In The History Of IPL
(Photo Source: X)

Mohammed Shami’s winning the Purple Cap in IPL 2023 was remarkable. Coming off a successful World Cup campaign, he continued his form with the Gujarat Titans. As the spearhead of their bowling attack, his combination of pace, swing, and accuracy consistently dismantled opposing batting lineups. His tally of 28 wickets in just 17 matches, coupled with an impressive economy rate of 8.03, showcased his dominance. His triumph marked a personal milestone that highlights his talent and dedication on the grand T20 stage. It also served as a significant achievement for the Gujarat Titans, underscoring the wisdom of their investment in the experienced pacer. 


So, these Indian bowlers did something special in the IPL over the years. From RP Singh to Mohammad Shami, they wore the Purple Cap which shows how good they are at bowling. It is not just about winning a cap but also about India becoming known for great bowlers in the exciting world of T20 cricket.