India Clinches 8th Asia Cup Title with 10-Wicket Win Over Sri Lanka, Courtesy of Mohammed Siraj’s 6-Wicket Haul

India secured their 8th Asia Cup championship by defeating Sri Lanka with a commanding 10-wicket victory in the final. Mohammed Siraj starred with a remarkable 6-wicket performance.

In a resounding victory, India claimed their 8th Asia Cup title on Sunday as they secured a commanding 10-wicket win with 263 balls remaining over Sri Lanka in the final showdown.

Openers Shubman Gill and Ishan Kishan achieved the modest target of 51 runs set by Sri Lanka with relative ease. Sri Lanka found it challenging to defend the total, which marked the lowest score in the ODI format of the Asia Cup.

Prior to the chase, it was Mohammed Siraj who stole the show with a magical spell, capturing 6 wickets for just 21 runs. His exceptional performance dismantled the Sri Lankan batting lineup, causing them to collapse for a mere 50 runs. This dismal total also marked Sri Lanka’s lowest ODI score against India.


Despite the heavily overcast conditions, Sri Lanka chose to bat first after winning the toss, and the match commenced 40 minutes later than the scheduled 3 PM start time.

Siraj’s bowling performance was truly remarkable, and it extended beyond mere statistics. He sprang into action after Jasprit Bumrah dismissed Kusal Perera in the third ball of the opening over with a routine caught behind.

In conditions that closely resembled those of London rather than Colombo, Siraj demonstrated his ability to consistently pitch the ball in the right areas, wreaking havoc on the Sri Lankan batting order.