ICC Ranking System: Test, T20 And ODI Also Its Differences

In this article, we have mentioned information related to the ranking system of ICC, T20 and ODI also the differences between them. 

In the world of international cricket, the International Cricket Council (ICC) Rankings play an important role in evaluating the performance of teams and players across the three major formats: Test cricket, One Day Internationals (ODIs), and Twenty20 Internationals (T20Is). These rankings are updated, providing valuable insight into the constant changings of international cricket, and capturing the successes and setbacks of teams and players as they strive for supremacy in their respective formats.

The ICC Ranking System

The ICC Ranking system is a points-based mechanism that takes into account various factors, including match outcomes, individual performances, and the strength of opponents. Each format has its unique weighting system, which reflects the distinct characteristics and challenges associated with that particular format.


Test Ranking

Test cricket, being the longest and most traditional format of the game, requires a blend of technical expertise, mental fortitude, and strategy. Therefore, the ICC Test Rankings have a significant impact on consistency and long-term performance. Teams earn points based on the outcome of matches, with victories earning more points than draws or losses. The ranking system also takes into account the strength of opponents, with wins against higher-ranked teams carrying more weight.

ODI Ranking

ODIs, with their shorter duration and focus on run-scoring and wicket-taking, demand a different set of skills and strategies compared to Test cricket. The ICC ODI Rankings reflect this, with a greater emphasis on individual performances and recent match outcomes. Teams that consistently score big runs and take wickets are rewarded with higher rankings.

Also Read: ICC World Cup Records and Statistics: Fastest Overall Records Made

T20 Ranking

T20Is, the shortest and most fast-paced format of cricket, require a combination of explosive batting, skillful bowling, and fielding. The ICC T20I Rankings acknowledge these qualities, with a significant emphasis placed on individual performances and recent match outcomes. Teams that consistently win matches and display exceptional individual brilliance tend to dominate the T20I rankings.

Key Differences in Ranking Calculation

The ICC Ranking system for each format differs in its weighting of match outcomes, individual performances, and the strength of opponents. These differences are designed to ensure that the rankings accurately represent the unique challenges and dynamics of each format.

In Test cricket, the outcomes of matches carry a higher weight, reflecting the greater importance of long-term consistency and the ability to perform under pressure over extended periods. In contrast, ODIs and T20Is place a greater emphasis on individual performances, recognizing the significant impact of individual brilliance in these shorter formats.

The strength of opponents is also considered differently across the formats. In Test cricket, wins against higher-ranked teams carry more weight, as it is more challenging to achieve success against stronger opposition over five days. In ODIs and T20Is, the strength of opponents is still factored in, but to a lesser extent, as the shorter formats can produce more unpredictable results.


The ICC Rankings, with their intricate calculations and format-specific adjustments, serve as an invaluable tool for evaluating the performance of teams and players in international cricket. They offer insights into the current state of the game, reflecting the rise and fall of teams, the emergence of new stars, and the ever-evolving strategies and tactics of the sport. As cricket continues to evolve, the ICC Rankings will adapt to capture the essence of each format, ensuring that they remain a reliable measure of cricketing prowess on the world stage.