ICC announces match officials for 2024 U19 Men’s Cricket World Cup

The ICC has revealed a group of 16 umpires and four match referees who will officiate the 2024 U19 Men’s Cricket World Cup matches.

The International Cricket Council (ICC) has announced the selection of match officials for the upcoming 2024 U19 Men’s Cricket World Cup scheduled to be held in South Africa from January 19 to February 11.

A total of 16 umpires and four match referees have been chosen to oversee the 41 matches during the tournament. The opening match between former champions South Africa and West Indies will be officiated by Roland Black (Ireland) and Gazi Sohel (Bangladesh) as on-field umpires, with former Sri Lankan cricketer Graeme Labrooy as match referee.

Defending champions India will face Bangladesh on January 20 in Bloemfontein, with Donovan Koch (Australia) and Nigel Duguid (West Indies) serving as on-field umpires, and India’s Narayanan Kutty as match referee.

In other fixtures, Bongani Jele (South Africa) and India’s K.N.A. Padmanabhan will officiate the match between Pakistan and Afghanistan, while Mike Burns and Patrick Gustard will oversee the clash between Sri Lanka and Zimbabwe.

Sean Easey, ICC Manager – Umpires and Referees, expressed the significance of the U19 Men’s Cricket World Cup as a platform for future cricket stars and an essential developmental event for umpires. He conveyed confidence in the appointed international match officials and wished them success for the tournament.

Match Officials at the ICC U19 Men’s Cricket World Cup 2024:


  • Bismillah Jan Shinwari
  • Donovan Koch
  • Phil Gillespie
  • Gazi Sohel
  • Masudur Rahman Mukul
  • Mike Burns
  • K.N.A. Padmanabhan
  • Roland Black
  • Faisal Khan Afridi
  • Rashid Riaz Waqar
  • Allahudien Palekar
  • Bongani Jele
  • Patrick Gustard
  • Nigel Duguid
  • Langton Rusere
  • Forster Mutizwa

Match Referees:

  • Graeme Labrooy
  • Shaid Wadvalla
  • Narayanan Kutty
  • Wayne Noon