Ibrahim Zadran to Lead Afghanistan in T20 Clash Against UAE

Afghanistan’s T20 squad for the UAE series, led by Ibrahim Zadran. Get insights into the return of fast bowlers in the absence of Rashid Khan.

The Afghanistan Cricket Board (ACB) selection committee has introduced an 18-member squad for the upcoming T20 series against the UAE, with Ibrahim Zadran appointed as the captain. Notably, regular T20I captain Rashid Khan will miss the series due to ongoing recovery from a recent back surgery.

Fast bowlers Fazal Haq Farooqi and Naveen Ul Haq, both of whom recently faced sanctions for expressing their intention to opt out of annual central contracts, have been included in the squad. The ACB released a statement mentioning that all three players approached the board, expressing a strong desire to represent their country again and requesting a reconsideration of the disciplinary measures imposed against them.

The three-match T20 series is scheduled to take place from December 29, 2023, to January 2, 2024, at the Sharjah Cricket Stadium. Afghanistan’s performance at the recent ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup has been commendable, securing four impressive wins, including victories against strong teams like Pakistan and the 2019 champions, England.


Afghanistan T20 Squad: Ibrahim Zadran (C), Rahmanullah Gurbaz (WK), Mohammad Ishaq (WK), Hazratullah Zazai, Sediqullah Atal, Rahmat Shah, Darwish Rasooli, Najibullah Zadran, Mohammad Nabi, Karim Janat, Azmaullah Omarzai, Sharafuddin Ashraf, Fazal Haq Farooqi, Fareed Ahmad, Naveen Ul Haq, Noor Ahmad, Mohammad Saleem, and Qais Ahmad.

Reserves: Rashid Khan, Ijaz Ahmad Ahmadzai, Ikram Alikhil, and Gulbadin Naib.