Five Fastest Centuries in the T20 International and World Cup 

In this article, we have mentioned information related to the five fastest centuries in the T20 international and World Cup. 

ICC Men’s T20 World Cup is the name of the Twenty20 (T20) cricket global tournament. A Twenty20 International (T20I) is an international cricket game between two teams, each of which has T20I status, according to the International Cricket Council (ICC), the game’s global governing body. In a T20I, only one inning, with a maximum of 20 overs, is allotted to each team. An individual is said to have “finished” a century in cricket when they score 100 runs or more in a single innings. The most recent match, the 2022 ICC Men’s T20 World Cup, featured ten different players who amassed eleven hundreds.

T20I is an international cricket competition that was first established by the England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) and is contested between two teams who have been given T20I status by the International Cricket Council (ICC). A T20 International is a game with a limited overs format that features 16 teams (maximum 20 overs). 

The three players David Miller, Rohit Sharma, and S Wickramasekara share the record for the quickest T20I century ever. In the T20I, three of them scored a century in just 35 balls. At the 2007 ICC World Twenty20, Chris Gayle became the first player to score a century in a T20I match against South Africa.


1. Chris Gayle 

Chris Gayle is the only player to have scored two hundred at a T20 World Cup. He also holds the record for the fastest century in the T20 World Cup. Although England was chasing a target of 183 in Mumbai, Gayle played a ferocious innings of 100* in just 47 balls. There were 5 fours and 11 sixes in this inning. The West Indies defeated their opponent by six wickets. He made one of the fastest centuries in the T20 international and World Cup.

2. Brendon McCullum

The best individual score in T20 World Cup history is presently held by former New Zealand captain Brendon McCullum. McCullum scored 123 runs off just 58 balls in a mind-blowing innings against Bangladesh in Pallekele in 2012. To get to 100 balls, he just needed 51. After McCullum’s superb performance, New Zealand won the match by a score of 59 runs.

Also Read: The Top Five Best Cricketers in Bangladesh Cricket Team

3. Rilee Rossouw

Rilee Rossouw became the very first South African cricketer to score a century in a T20 World Cup as he led his squad to a triumph over Bangladesh in the 2022 T20 World Cup. With Rossouw’s 109, which included seven fours and eight sixes, the team amassed a mammoth total of 205 runs, which they easily batted down. He is only the second T20I player in history to score a century in back-to-back matches. He also made one of the fastest centuries in the T20 international and World Cup.

4. Suresh Raina

The only player to strike a century in both the ODI and T20 World Cups is Suresh Raina. Raina’s first T20 World Cup century, like Gayle’s, came against South Africa in 2010. Raina scored an incredible innings of 101 runs with a strike rate of 168.33 and the help of 9 fours and 5 sixes. Raina’s brilliant batting was a major factor in India’s victory, which they achieved by a margin of 14 runs.

5. Ahmed Shehzad

Ahmed Shehzad became the sole Pakistani player to get a century at the T20 World Cup. In the T20 World Cup 2014 encounter, Shehzad opened the batting for Pakistan against Bangladesh, striking a brilliant century off just 58 balls. His 111 runs in one inning, which included 10 fours and five sixes, contributed to his team’s easy 50-run victory. He made one of the fastest centuries in the T20 international and World Cup.