Cricketers who can be the orange cap holder in IPL 2024

In this article, we will take a closer look at the top five cricketers who can be the orange cap holder in IPL 2024 with their stellar innings.

The 17th edition of the Indian Premier League kick-started on 22nd March 2024 with arch-rivals Chennai Super Kings (CSK) and Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) locking horns against each other to compete for the glorious title of IPL 2024. The Indian Premier League (IPL), also referred to as the “cash-rich” league, is often hailed as one of the most popular T20 cricket formats in the country, followed by millions of fans. 

With the inclusion of prominent cricketers, including Virat Kohli, Shikhar Dhawan, MS Dhoni, Rishabh Pant, Shubhman Gill, KL Rahul, Shreyas Iyer, and many more, the Indian Premier League (IPL) is commemorated as the ultimate cricket fest in the country, garnering a plethora of awards, recognition for the newbies in cricket landscape and an enormous viewership on the national level. While the cash-rich league greatly assists the cricketers monetarily, it also provides them with a fair opportunity to grab the limelight and attention of millions of viewers and clinch the coveted awards including the Orange Cap, Purple Cap, MVP, Emerging Player of the Season, Fair Play award and many others. 

No Player Team Runs Mat Avg H.S SR
1 Virat Kohli RCB 181 3 90.5 83 141.41
2 Heinrich Klaasen SRH 143 2 143 80 226.98
3 Riyan Parag RR 127 2 127 84 171.62
4 Sanju Samson RR 97 2 97 82 146.97
5 Abhishek Sharma SRH 95 2 47.5 63 226.19


Virat Kohli – Royal Challengers Bangalore 

Legendary cricketer and former skipper of the national cricket team of India and IPL franchise Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB), Virat Kohli is often hailed as the “King” Kohli of Indian cricket. The run-machine, Virat Kohli, has been dominating the IPL landscape since he made his debut for the Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) franchise in 2008 and is known to be the only player in the history of IPL who hasn’t switched sides and continued playing for only one franchise throughout his IPL journey till now. With his terrific records including the highest IPL runs (7,444), the highest number of runs in a single IPL season (973), the highest number of centuries in IPL (7) and the highest runs as a captain (4,994), Virat Kohli has established himself as the ultimate King of the IPL format. The ongoing IPL 2024 season is no different for the King. Kohli has already scored a total of 181 runs in a total of three matches, taking an undeniable lead in the race for the Orange Cap award.

Heinrich Klaasen – Sunrisers Hyderabad 

Heinrich Klaasen made his starry Indian Premier League (IPL) breakthrough in 2018 for Rajasthan Royals in 2018. The South African cricketer later chose to switch sides and in the ongoing IPL 2024 season, Heinrich Klaasen is representing the Sunrisers Hyderabad franchise. Although the dynamic middle-order batsman doesn’t have extensive experience of the highly competitive T20 format, IPL, Heinrich Klaasen has been coming through as a formidable force to reckon with in the ongoing IPL 2024 season. With a total of two matches that he has played till now, Heinrich Klaasen has amassed a phenomenal total of 143* runs at an excellent average of 143, establishing himself as one of the top prospects in the race for the orange cap award for the ongoing IPL 2024 season.  

Riyan Parag – Rajasthan Royals 

Although the last few seasons have been a bit challenging for Riyan Parag to build his legacy, the ongoing IPL 2024 season has proved to be a game-changer for the batsman. Riyan Parag made his IPL debut for the Rajasthan Royals franchise in 2019 and is often considered to be a dynamic and young emerging talent in the IPL landscape. In the ongoing IPL 2024 season, Parag has represented Rajasthan Royals (RR) in a total of two matches and has managed to deliver path-breaking innings for the squad. The young star has accumulated a total of 127* runs at a terrific average of 127, establishing himself as one of the top players in the league who might clinch the orange cap award at the end of the tournament.

Sanju Samson – Rajasthan Royals 

Sanju Samson, often referred to as “Bappu” by his teammates and close friends, made his IPL breakthrough in the 2013 IPL season and clinched the “Emerging Player of the Year” award for his unbeaten debut innings. The current skipper of the Rajasthan Royals (RR) squad took the IPL world by storm with his ferocious 82* run innings against Lucknow SuperGiants in the most recent IPL match. Veteran cricketers, including Irfan Pathan and Harbhajan Singh, appreciated the 29-year-old skipper for his outstanding and match-winning performance on the field. Till now, Sanju Samson has amassed a total of 97* runs in the ongoing IPL 2024 season, making him a strong candidate in the race for the orange cap award.  

Abhishek Sharma – Sunrisers Hyderabad

Abhishek Sharma, often considered to be one of the most dynamic and dependable middle-order batsmen in the T20 format, made his IPL debut in 2018 with Sunrisers Hyderabad franchise. The ongoing IPL 2024 season has proved to be a trendsetter for batsmen. In the most recent “Mumbai Indians vs Sunrisers Hyderabad” action-packed match, Abhishek Sharma smashed a brilliant half-century in a total of 16 deliveries and successfully destroyed the fierce bowling attackers of Mumbai Indians. Abhishek Sharma surpassed the legendary cricketer Travis Head who holds the record for striking a half-century in 18 balls. Although later in the game, Sharma’s spine-chilling innings were concluded by Piyush Chawla, his phenomenal innings of 63* off just 23 deliveries elevated his stature in the T20 format. With a total of 95* runs, Abhishek Sharma is already in the race for the Orange Cap award and has a high chance of giving tough competition to the legendary cricketers, including Virat Kohli.