Brisbane Heat clinch 2nd BBL title in power-packed victory over Sydney Sixers

Josh Brown’s heroics lead Brisbane Heat to BBL glory after 11 years, showcasing power-hitting in a thrilling final against Sydney Sixers.

In a thrilling showcase of power-hitting and exceptional bowling, the Brisbane Heat secured their second Big Bash League (BBL) title in 11 years with a commanding 54-run victory over the Sydney Sixers at the iconic Sydney Cricket Ground.

The standout performer of the night was the explosive opener, Josh Brown, who not only replicated his record-breaking innings with another quickfire half-century but also played a pivotal role in the Heat’s 54-run demolition of the Sydney Sixers.

Opting to bat after winning the toss, Brisbane Heat’s Josh Brown and skipper Nathan McSweeney laid a solid foundation with a formidable partnership. Brown, renowned for his big-hitting prowess, showcased his skills once again, contributing 53 to a total of 8-166 on a challenging surface.


The Heat’s innings received an additional boost from reserve Test squad batter Matthew Renshaw, who added a quickfire 40 off 22 balls. The real magic, however, unfolded during the Heat’s defense, led by left-arm sensation Spencer Johnson, who delivered a bowling masterclass with extraordinary figures of 4-26. Johnson’s performance not only stifled the Sydney Sixers but also secured the best-ever figures in a BBL final, surpassing the earlier record set by Sean Abbott (4-32).

The Sixers’ chase faced early setbacks as Michael Neser removed Daniel Hughes with a sensational delivery. Despite efforts from Jack Edwards and Josh Philippe, Johnson’s lethal bowling dismantled the opposition, propelling him to the tournament’s leading wicket-taker with 19 scalps.

A turning point occurred when leg-spinner Mitchell Swepson claimed the crucial wicket of Jordan Silk, adding to the Sixers’ woes. With wickets falling at regular intervals, including the dismissal of Sixers skipper Moises Henriques, the Brisbane Heat celebrated victory as the Sixers were bowled out for 112.

This triumph avenged the Heat’s final-over loss in the previous season’s decider, marking the end of an incredible campaign that included winning their first seven home-and-away games to top the standings.

In a touching moment, veteran Steve O’Keefe bid farewell to his illustrious BBL career with a first-ball duck. The match marked the end of an era for O’Keefe, a Big Bash champion, who received a standing ovation from home fans, concluding his career with 99 wickets from 103 matches at an incredible economy of 6.65.

For the Brisbane Heat, this victory not only secured their second BBL title but also marked the end of an 11-year title drought, solidifying their status as one of the top contenders in Australian T20 cricket.