Abhimanyu Easwaran to lead India A against England Lions

Abhimanyu Easwaran was named captain of the 13-member India A squad for multi-day practice matches against England Lions.

Bengal’s Abhimanyu Easwaran, known for his prowess as a red-ball opener, has been appointed as the skipper of the India ‘A’ team set to face England Lions in a series comprising three multi-day matches scheduled later this month. Easwaran, who recently filled in for the injured Ruturaj Gaikwad during India’s Test series in South Africa, will lead the team in the warm-up fixture and the initial multi-day game against the Lions.

Having displayed his leadership skills by captaining India ‘A’ in their recent four-day encounter against South Africa ‘A’, Easwaran remains a constant presence in the India ‘A’ setup. He was also listed among the standby players for India’s Test squad in various series, including the 2021 ICC World Test Championship final and the away series versus England that year. His impressive first-class record boasts 6585 runs from 89 matches at an average of 47.03, featuring 22 centuries and 26 half-centuries.

Players in India A


The 13-member India ‘A’ squad includes promising left-handed batsman Sai Sudharsan, who made a notable entry into the ODI arena with two fifties against South Africa. Additionally, Rajat Patidar, who received his maiden ODI cap in the final match at Paarl, joins the team. Seasoned campaigners such as wicketkeeper-batsman KS Bharat and fast bowler Navdeep Saini bring experience to the squad.

Completing the lineup are batters Sarfaraz Khan and Pradosh Ranjan Paul, wicketkeeper-batter Dhruv Jurel, spinner Manav Suthar, off-spinner Pulkit Narang, and the trio of fast bowlers – Tushar Deshpande, Vidwath Kaverappa, and Akash Deep.

The series against England Lions kicks off with a two-day warm-up match on January 12 at the Narendra Modi Stadium Ground ‘B’, Ahmedabad, followed by the first four-day game starting on January 17 at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad.

India ‘A’ Squad

Abhimanyu Easwaran (Captain), Sai Sudharsan, Rajat Patidar, Sarfaraz Khan, Pradosh Ranjan Paul, KS Bharat (WK), Manav Suthar, Pulkit Narang, Navdeep Saini, Tushar Deshpande, Vidwath Kaverappa, Dhruv Jurel (WK), Akash Deep